Mushroom Haloumi Burger – bringing home the Mushroom Masters

Well it has come down to this. One week to go in the inaugural Mushroom Masters and everything is one the line for those all important bragging rights. Our Fungi Foursome has been fantastic, producing some delicious recipes to get everyone into the mushroom mood.

Congratulations also to our American and Canadian mates for their efforts in valiantly trying to defeat Australia with some great looking – and tasting recipes. For the mushroom lover the four week feast has provided 12 new recipe ideas to tempt the tastebuds. It just doesn’t get any better than that!

This week we have our last (but not least) member of our Aussie team – Peter, from Souvlaki for the Soul. Also cooking up a storm in the Wildcard Round is Katherine from Kath Eats (United States) and Kevin from Closet Cooking (Canada).

While I have not seen the other recipes, I remain confident that Peter’s great little number can stand up to anything our opposition can put up against it.

So, without any further ado, as they say in the classics, let me introduce Peter so we can all get cooking….

My name’s Peter and “Souvlaki For The Soul” is my baby! I started the blog during a period in my life where I was seeking to do something creative. I come from a Greek background where food has always been a passion and has played a big part in defining who I am.

I’m very lucky as I get to travel for a living and this has allowed me to see and eat a lot of the world!! When I first started the blog I had no idea which direction it would take or where it would lead me. I now find myself being invited to private masterclasses with famous chefs, cooking with exotic ingredients on tropical Thai islands and photographing restaurants and food commercially.

Blogging has been a good education tool too. It has taught me a lot. I’m a firm believer that one should never stop learning. I’m also grateful for what I have and try to say thanks. Oscar Wilde was once quoted as saying ”We are all lying in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.” Well I can tell you, the stars I can see are covered in a dark couverture chocolate!

And now what you have all been waiting for – the recipe……

Mushroom Haloumi Burger
(for one “burger”)

Think of this as more of a construction than a recipe. You can add whatever you like. I make caramelised onions and chargrilled peppers and store them in the fridge. You may choose to add some crunchy cos lettuce, grilled eggplants-really the possibilities are endless. I quite like the concept of using the large portabello mushrooms as the base and top to create a burger. Even though burgers are usually eaten with one’s hand I’d be wary doing it with this!

ingredients:

2 portabello mushroom with the stems trimmed
1 thick slice of haloumi cheese
caramelised onions
chargrilled peppers
olive oil
micro herbs to garnish
wedges, chips or fries to serve

method:

1. Place the two portabello mushroom caps in a non stick pan and drizzle a little olive oil over them.

2. Cook for two minutes on each side and then place the pan in a preheated 180 deg C oven and cook off the mushrooms for five minutes. Remove and set aside.

3. Heat another pan with a little olive oil and once it’s heated place your thick slice of haloumi on one side. Allow it to cook for 2-3 mins until it forms a nice brown crust, turn it over and repeat again.

4. Once it’s cooked remove from the pan and set aside.

5. Take one of the mushroom caps and place some chargrilled peppers on the base, then the haloumi, followed by some caramelised onions. Garnish with micro herbs and top with another mushroom cap. Serve with your favourite potatoes on the side.

Don’t forget

If you have been following our progress over the competition you should know by now that you need to vote each week as a matter of national pride. And you know the drill – vote now and then send the link to all your family and friends, so they can all help us celebrate our Mushroom Masters victory. Naturally enough the best way to celebrate is with some mushrooms.

So, whip on over to Tastespotting and remember – Vote 1 – Mushroom Haloumi Burger.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mushroom Haloumi Burger – bringing home the Mushroom Masters

  1. Gorgeous recipe Peter – love the Greek-inspired halloumi on there. Such a juicy and delicious dish.

  2. Pingback: Winners are Grinners – Australia takes out the Mushrooms Masters | Mighty Mushroom

Leave a Reply

